kevin MD

9. Wear compression tights or stockings in operating room. Practical tip. We ladies seem to be more prone to broken veins from the constant standing. Not only that, but if I forget my tights, I can’t fit into my heels at the end of the day. Thanks to the scrub nurses for drumming this one into me! I wear 2XU tights, and there are loads of small businesses selling super funky compression socks.

  • Introduce yourself, with a warm greeting or handshake, showing your politeness, respect, and approachability.
  • Try sitting down for a moment while the patient relates her chief complaints, showing that you have time for her, possibly making a nervous patient feel more at ease.
  • Relate back to her a sentence or two of her stated complaints, so she knows you’re listening and that she’s been heard.
  • Give detailed instructions on medication use, showing that you’re interested in her understanding.
  • Offer resources for more information, showing her that you care about her problem.
  • Greet them at the end of the visit, “Thanks for coming in,” “See you next year,” showing your appreciation for her visit, and that you look forward to seeing her again.
  • Be a hero with the patient, by following up on tests, returning calls, and reminding them to call for concerns (showing her your availability).

He’s approachable, he makes time for me, he makes me feel at ease, he listens, he’s interested and cares about my problems, he’s available for my concerns, he’s appreciative, and I look forward to seeing him.

Leave a Reply

